by haikuhouse

A beautiful calendar and one of the reasons I stared this blog…

IMG_2096

Last year we had an EarthFare grocery store open up down the road and I really love everything about it.
I have been to Whole Foods and Trader Joes and those places just don’t do it for me.

Long story short…back in November I bought a gorgeous little calendar at EarthFare for my fridge and I absolutely adore it. Each month features an Arts & Crafts style tile. I was very happy for February to get here because I love the colors and design of the ‘Pasadena’ tile. You can get this same calendar for 2015 here.
(7×7) Arts & Crafts Tiles: Made by Motawi Tileworks – 2015 Mini Calendar

IMG_2095

So the main reason for today’s post is to reach out to the health conscious.

A few years ago I started having allergic reactions to foods that I have eaten my whole life! Almonds & pistachios along with certain fruits and vegetables. I strongly believe this is due to pesticides and GMO.

I’m not a doctor or nutritionist but I am very health conscious these days. You would be too if you had to carry an Epi-Pen in your purse because you have had severe reactions at least 6 or 7 times! I pretty much know what to avoid now…

The last (and worst) time was months ago. J and I were at Publix and saw some beautiful pineapples. I picked one up to smell it and about 3 minutes later my hands started feeling hot and my nose became numb. After about 5 minutes it was very hard to swallow and my eyelids were extremely puffy…it looked like I had been stung by a 50 bees! Just from smelling and handling the pineapple…that’s why I believe it’s the pesticides they put on our food.

With all that being said, I have signed up with Amazon Associates to promote certain products that I have used myself and CONTINUE to use. Especially all-natural/non-GMO packaged foods. Towards the end of this post I will provide links to 3 of my favorites.

(If you click the link and purchase any products I promote, I will receive a commission for it…so I just want to be up front about that and I truly thank you in advance.)

I want to share these products with my readers because unlike the actual doctors these days, I really care about the health of my fellow women. I don’t care what race/nationality or religion you are. We are women and we have to stick together.
Love thy neighbor and treat others as you would like to be treated is certainly biblical scripture but also one of my mottos in life. It is becoming more clear to me that my calling is to inspire other girls and women…

Let me go ahead and get this all out in the open & out of the way so I don’t have to bore people again with sales tactics and explanations.
Not only will I feature healthy food items but you will also find links for art supplies, home goods and pretty much anything I buy for myself that I would want to share with my mom and sisters!

Processed with Moldiv
J’s mom introduced me to Madhava coconut blossom sugar. I use it every morning in my espresso. The flavor is wonderful and it’s a great alternative to the white stuff. It’s rich in amino acids & minerals, non-GMO, unrefined and has a lower glycemic index of 35-40. Madhava Organic Coconut Sugar — 1 lb

IMG_1596
Very convenient & delicious light snack for when we are on the jobsite. I love green olives but the kalamata with a hint of thyme are excellent too.
Mario Camacho Brineless Pouch Olives, Natural Sea Salt Green, 1.05 Ounce (Pack of 12)
Mario Camacho Foods Pitted Snack Olives, Kalamata with a Hint of Thyme, 1.05 Ounce (Pack of 12)

Processed with Moldiv
This soup is my all time favorite go-to. I eat the mung bean noodles with chopsticks, then I slowly drink the broth. The flavor is so warm and comforting. If you have never tried mung bean (or cellophane) noodles please do yourself a favor! I promise it’s good. It’s similar to a ramen noodle but much healthier and better to digest. (Dog optional…ha!)
Dr. McDougall’s Gluten Free Asian Soup Hot & Spicy — 1 oz

FYI…A couple of weeks ago I began reading articles on ‘monetizing your blog’ and I have to say that ever since I left my office job the financial security pretty much was left behind as well. People have been very open about their success with earning an income blogging and I vow to do the same.

Peace, blessings & good health to all…

-HH

