by haikuhouse

This chili recipe was given to me by J’s mom. We make it often & I love it because it’s easy to put together and cost around $18. You could certainly substitute the beef with ground turkey.

IMG_2135

You will need:

1 lb ground beef
1 large yellow onion, diced
2 large cans of diced tomatoes
2 cans of spicy chili beans
1 can of light red kidney beans
2 packs mild chili mix
1 pack hot chili mix
Chopped garlic
Chili powder
Salt & Pepper
Olive oil

IMG_2126

Put the beef in a shallow bowl and season it with salt, pepper & chili powder along with the chopped garlic.
Set aside.

Heat a large pan on medium high heat with a good drizzle of olive oil. Once it’s heated add the onion and stir with a wooden spoon.

In a large pot add the diced tomatoes, chili beans, kidney beans & chili packets.

I give the onions a stir between opening and pouring each can. So by the time everything is in the pot, the meat is ready to be added to the onion.

IMG_2131

By the time the meat is cooked through, the chili is going to start bubbling.

IMG_2132

Very carefully pour the meat & onion into the chili pot. Turn the heat to low and let it simmer for about 15-25 minutes.

We usually just top our bowl of chili with some grated cheddar. Tonight we ate it sans cheese and it was still so good.

Being a native southerner, I LOVE cornbread. I don’t love the calories though…However, if you want to make your man this delicious chili for Valentines Dinner next week, I think some moist cornbread is necessary.

This recipe from Teresa over at Blooming On Bainbridge looks like a winner to me!
http://www.bloomingonbainbridge.com/2012/11/cornbread-101-how-to-make-perfect.html?m=1

Enjoy!

The Madeira End Grain Teak Chop Block was a Christmas gift from my dad. I absolutely love it & you will see it a lot in my cooking photos! The wood is just stunning and has a nice thickness. You can get the same exact one that I have by clicking the link below. I have also added a link for the Madeira teak spoon.
Madeira Mario Batali M-09 End Grain Teak Chop Block, Medium
Madeira 4014 Teak Corner Spoon

