by haikuhouse

IMG_2342

Rosalia, my grandmother, has definitely influenced the way I cook and what I choose to cook.

She came to America from Italy with my grandfather, Victor, sometime in the 40’s or 50’s.

Her food is what people would consider truly Mediterranean. Growing up my favorite thing she made was a veggie antipasto with carrots, cauliflower, black olives & celery with olive oil and vinegar.

And she always made bread.

Not the rustic white bread, but a beautiful brown whole wheat bread.
It’s perfect for soaking up the olive oil in a plate of soft white cannelloni beans & spinach.

A truly authentic Italian, my nona lives to provide good food to loved ones.

IMG_2322

It makes me wonder why it has taken me so long to make bread?!

I did exactly that on February 14th and found a good basic bread recipe over on Mel’s Kitchen Cafe.

IMG_2325

IMG_2327

The act & process of making bread felt so natural. (More fluent to me than gardening apparently…I’m struggling to keep the ferns alive)

I added dill to my dough then divided it into two loafs & smoothed a little olive oil over the tops.

IMG_2325-0
To this one I added capers and chopped garlic.

IMG_2327-0
Kept this loaf simple with a dusting of flour, dill, and a dash of ground red pepper.

How beautiful is this bread??

IMG_2328

IMG_2332

IMG_2343

IMG_2344

IMG_2345

IMG_2348

IMG_2349

IMG_2351

IMG_2354

For my dough, I went with sprouted spelt flour. I love the flavor because it’s very similar to the taste of my Nona’s bread.

From what I read about spelt flour, it is more digestible than whole wheat flour which makes it a better option.
One Degree Organic Foods Organic Sprouted Spelt Flour, 80 oz

If your interested in a book with great bread recipes & photography I suggest
Tartine Bread.

More bread to come,

-HH

