by haikuhouse

Part I – Watercolor & Pen Rendering

Q:I’ve been trying to accomplish pen drawings with a watercolor wash for a while, but have failed every time. Do you have any tips of your own?

My response to this question was to make sure you use an assortment of brushes with different widths.

Small brush tips
Larger tips
Flat square tips

Nice brushes are an investment but totally worth it.

Another tip I gave was to leave some white space on your subject. In other words, don’t color in every single part…it makes things look not so heavy & a little more realistic.

I was very happy to receive this question & it challenged me to finally sketch a piece of granite. I’ve been thinking about doing it for a few weeks now, so this seemed like the perfect opportunity.

IMG_2410

Why a chunk of granite? I like being able to portray different materials in my Interior renderings.

Plus I think it’s a good brain exercise & if you’re an Interior Design student I seriously suggest you try this.

Not just with granite, but different wood samples, textile samples, etc.

IMG_2415

Here is my beautiful piece of granite.

Something to keep note of is not moving your subject around until your totally done because you will lose the angle you drew it in. I know this may seem like I’m stating the obvious but I did just that without even thinking because I was trying to get some photos for this post.

IMG_2417

IMG_2419

Here is my sketch of the granite which I tried to do as quickly as possible.

I find that the more I think about it, the more complicated it gets. Anyone agree with this?

You will also notice on the second photo the angle of the granite is slightly different.

So this sketch is basically my “template” now for Part II. I will be lightly erasing some of the pencil lines before I render it with watercolor & pen.

In the meantime go sketch something, anything & meet me back here this week for Part II.

Here are two links for brushes & watercolors if you don’t have this stuff yet.

Royal Gold Royal and Langnickel Short Handle Paint Brush Set, Specialty, 7-Piece

Loew Cornell 1021095 Simply Art Watercolor Cakes

Have a wonderful day,
-HH

