by haikuhouse

Part II – Watercolor & Pen Rendering

God’s creativity is endless & leaves me in a constant state of awe. Something so organic as a piece of granite has so much beautiful detail and is literally a work of art in itself.

Let’s take a look at our subject one more time…

IMG_2415

This was so much harder than I anticipated because of the amount of detail!

I’m not particularly happy with the outcome, but as the saying goes practice makes perfect & I have a lot of countertop samples.

Okay so the first thing I did was a little wash of white with a sienna brownish-yellow.

The important part to note here is that I did NOT totally cover every part. I left plenty of white space.

IMG_2454

I actually forgot to erase some of my pencil lines & please ignore that terrible blob on the lower right side…

Hopefully you didn’t even notice 😉

So the next thing I did was the dark brown & ochre yellow details that are obvious to see.

IMG_2455

IMG_2456-0

At this point I just tried my best to add in as much detail without going overboard.

IMG_2458

The last step I took was a quick pen rendering which definitely added to it but then again I think it’s the pen I’m the least pleased with.

IMG_2459

When you look at the granite you obviously don’t see a black outline around the top surface…Also notice the major difference in the last photo of the angle of the granite compared to the point of view I drew it in. See how different it looks?

So if watercolor is the medium you prefer to work with, here are three book recommendations to help you along.

The Watercolor Artist’s Bible
Watercolor Painting: A Comprehensive Approach to Mastering the Medium
Zoltan Szabo’s 70 Favorite Watercolor Techniques

I hope you enjoyed this little two part tutorial & I would love some feedback for future tutorial ideas anyone might be interested in.

Stay creative & keep practicing!
-HH

