Art Nouveau Thistle & ‘Decorative Artifacts’

by haikuhouse

 [Presenting the ‘Art Nouveau Thistle’ Motawi Tile. It’s beautiful, isn’t it?]

This year is almost over & in a month from tomorrow I will be 30 years old.

On the last night of September, J & I hung out at home. He was doing his thing & I was playing piano. 

But before I sat down to that beautiful combination of wood, strings & keys, I was reading the end of Psalms. 

The very last chapter is Psalms 150 & it goes like this:

1 Praise ye the Lord. Praise God in his sanctuary: praise him in the firmament of his power.

2 Praise him for his mighty acts: praise him according to his excellent greatness.

3 Praise him with the sound of the trumpet: praise him with the psaltery and harp.

4 Praise him with the timbrel and dance: praise him with stringed instruments and organs.

5 Praise him upon the loud cymbals: praise him upon the high sounding cymbals.

6 Let every thing that hath breath praise the Lord. Praise ye the Lord.

The second I was done reading verse 3, it’s like my entire being was moved. One second I was sitting under the warm lamp-light & the next second I was sitting at the piano.

I’ve always felt God has given me the gift of music & it makes sense that He would bless me with musical grandparents. They didn’t play instruments, although my grandmother did buy that piano for her husband…They loved music.

As I’m playing, J comes down to tell me that it sounds really good. Coming from one of the most talented musicians, I was so flattered by his words. 

But I humbly admit that I am just the vessel for the Spirit of God to move through & I give Him all the glory for He is my inspiration.

So on the last night of September, it was finally time to watch ‘American Movie‘ & finally, I was moved to put together a plan to compose a 5 track EP titled ‘Decorative Artifacts’.

I’m in that spiritual “goldilocks zone” of time & space now.

“To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven…” Ecclesiastes 3:1

Welcome to October & have a happy World Ballet Day!

Royal Opera House: Pointe History

The New Ballet: Shaping & Toning

-HH







